New Kid (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
3 on hand, as of Feb 20 8:45am
(Children - Graphic Novels)
Northshire Saratoga
16 on hand, as of Feb 20 8:45am
(Children - Graphic Novels)

Staff Reviews


Jordan Banks is a seventh grader starting a new school, not the art school he was hoping for, and also not the one all his neighborhood friends go to. His parents are sending him to a private school known for it’s academic excellence, and he is one of the few kids of color to attend. Jordan has to learn how to find his place, and be true to himself, in both his new school, and with the new dynamic he has with his friends at home.This book tackles many issues, such as racism, bullying, and fitting in, with great style and a lot of humor. It’s a great addition to the graphic novel genre. — Becky Doherty

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List


New Kid tackles diversity and inclusion with humor and charm. Jordan Banks wants to go to art school, but his mother sends him to Riverdale, a predominantly white private school, to increase his opportunities. Jordan teams up with Liam and Drew and along the way starts to enjoy himself. Craft uses pop culture parody references to start each chapter and includes drawings by Jordan throughout the book. The graphic novel format is perfect for a kid who loves art and also serves to take the story deeper as the pictures add another layer. Highly recommended for new kids and old ones!”
— Kathy Burnette, The Brain Lair, South Bend, IN

Description


Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

About the Author


Jerry Craft is an author and illustrator who has worked on numerous picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade novels, including The Zero Degree Zombie Zone by Patrik Henry Bass. Jerry is the creator of Mama’s Boyz, an award-winning syndicated comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards, and he is a cofounder of the Schomburg Center’s Annual Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Connecticut. Visit him online at www.jerrycraft.net.

Jerry Craft is an author and illustrator who has worked on numerous picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade novels, including The Zero Degree Zombie Zone by Patrik Henry Bass. Jerry is the creator of Mama’s Boyz, an award-winning syndicated comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards, and he is a cofounder of the Schomburg Center’s Annual Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Connecticut. Visit him online at www.jerrycraft.net.

Praise For…


“Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about!”
— Jeff Kinney, Author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

“An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This is more than a story about being the new kid—it’s a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Craft’s full-color comics art is dynamic and expressive. This school story stands out as a robust, contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art.”
— Horn Book Magazine


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062691194
ISBN-10: 0062691198
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 5th, 2019
Pages: 256
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs