Just Like Jackie (Hardcover)

Just Like Jackie Cover Image
$16.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Oct 16 10:30am
(Children - MidChild)
Northshire Saratoga
2 on hand, as of Oct 16 10:30am
(Children - MidChild)

Description


Family is family, no matter what it looks like. Readers will cheer for this pitch-perfect story, just right for fans of such books as The Great Gilly Hopkins and Fish in a Tree.

For as long as Robinson Hart can remember, it’s just been her and Grandpa. He taught her about cars, baseball, and everything else worth knowing. But Grandpa’s memory has been getting bad—so bad that he sometimes can’t even remember Robbie’s name.

She’s sure that she’s making things worse by getting in trouble at school, but she can’t resist using her fists when bullies like Alex Carter make fun of her for not having a mom.

Now she’s stuck in group guidance—and to make things even worse, Alex Carter is there too. There’s no way Robbie’s going to open up about her life to some therapy group, especially not with Alex in the room. Besides, if she told anyone how forgetful Grandpa’s been getting lately, they’d take her away from him. He’s the only family she has—and it’s up to her to keep them together, no matter what.

Praise for Just Like Jackie:

"I was truly moved by this refreshing story about a scrappy young heroine and her struggle to protect her family."—Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of Pax

Just Like Jackie is a lovely story of acceptance—about what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences.”—Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain Reign

"A fresh coming-of-age novel as feisty, funny, and forthright as its protagonist. Robinson overcomes obstacles with wit, grit, and a growing compassion for others, showing us that families are what we make them and happiness is found in the simple gifts we take for granted. A rich, rewarding read all around."—John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby's Last Day

“As close to perfect as a book for middle grade children can get!”—Cammie McGovern, author of Just My Luck

★ "Stoddard debuts with a quiet but powerful narrative that gently unpacks Alzheimer’s, centers mental health, and moves through the intimate and intense emotional landscape of family—what seems to break one and what can remake it. Validating, heart-rending, and a deft blend of suffering and inspiration."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A home-run story that will resonate with all who feel they might not fit into the perfect definition of a family.”—School Library Journal

“Debut author Stoddard crafts a winning narrator in Robinson. A beautiful story about the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt.”—Booklist

About the Author


Lindsey Stoddard was born and raised in Vermont. She spent twelve years living in NYC and taught middle school English at MS 324 in the neighborhood of Washington Heights. She recently moved back to Vermont with her husband and two children. Right as Rain is her second novel, following the acclaimed Just Like Jackie.

Praise For…


“I was truly moved by this refreshing story about a scrappy young heroine and her struggle to protect her family.”
— Sara Pennypacker, New York Times bestselling author of Pax

“A story about scratching the surface (and welcoming what you find below). It’s also a lovely story of acceptance - about what makes a family and how we make our own families, and about embracing our differences.”
— Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain, Reign

“As close to perfect as a book for middle-grade children can get! Readers will cheer for Robbie as she comes to terms with the family she has and finds the family she needs.”
— Cammie McGovern, author of Just My Luck

“A coming-of-age novel as feisty, funny, and forthright as its protagonist. Robinson overcomes obstacles with wit, grit, and a growing compassion for others, showing us that families are what we make them and happiness is found in the simple gifts we take for granted. A rich, rewarding read.”
— John David Anderson, author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day

“Stoddard debuts with a quiet but powerful narrative that gently unpacks Alzheimer’s, centers mental health, and moves through the intimate and intense emotional landscape of family—what seems to break one and what can remake it. Validating, heart-rending, and a deft blend of suffering and inspiration.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This emotionally honest, sensitively written novel confronts a range of difficult topics and offers an inclusive view of what family can look like.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A home-run story that will resonate with all who feel they might not fit into the perfect definition of a family.”
— School Library Journal

“Debut author Stoddard crafts a winning narrator in Robinson. A beautiful story about the true meaning of family, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt.”
— Booklist

Selected as a Top Ten Kids’ Indie Next title
— No Source


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062652911
ISBN-10: 0062652915
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2018
Pages: 256
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs