All the Beautiful Lies: A Novel (Hardcover)

All the Beautiful Lies: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Nov 20 4:45pm
(Mystery)
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Nov 20 8:45am
(Mystery)

Description


From the acclaimed author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder—a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith.

Harry Ackerson has always considered his stepmother Alice to be sexy and beautiful, in an "otherworldly" way. She has always been kind and attentive, if a little aloof in the last few years.

Days before his college graduation, Alice calls with shocking news. His father is dead and the police think it’s suicide. Devastated, Harry returns to his father’s home in Maine. There, he and Alice will help each other pick up of the pieces of their lives and uncover what happened to his father.

Shortly after he arrives, Harry meets a mysterious young woman named Grace McGowan. Though she claims to be new to the area, Harry begins to suspect that Grace may not be a complete stranger to his family. But she isn’t the only attractive woman taking an interest in Harry. The sensual Alice is also growing closer, coming on to him in an enticing, clearly sexual way.

Mesmerized by these two women, Harry finds himself falling deeper under their spell. Yet the closer he gets to them, the more isolated he feels, disoriented by a growing fear that both women are hiding dangerous—even deadly—secrets . . . and that neither one is telling the truth.

 

About the Author


Peter Swanson is the author of three novels: The Girl With a Clock For a Heart, an LA Times Book Award finalist; The Kind Worth Killing, winner of the New England Society Book Award, and finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger; and his most recent, Her Every Fear. His books have been translated into 30 languages, and his stories, poetry, and features have appeared in Asimov’s Science FictionThe Atlantic MonthlyMeasureThe GuardianThe Strand Magazine, and Yankee Magazine. A graduate of Trinity College, the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and Emerson College, he lives in Somerville, Massachusetts with his wife.

Praise For…


“Suspense lovers will devour this deliciously duplicitous read, which is chock-full of twists, turns, lust, greed, and dishonesty.”
Library Journal

“Swanson’s fourth psychological thriller is a gripping exploration of delusion and deceit; sure to please readers of Laura Lippman’s stand-alones.”
Booklist

“Complex [and] intriguing… [Swanson] makes sure to place those twists and turns perfectly... And when someone else turns up dead, the story goes from 0-to-60 in a split-second. Peter Swanson has done a fantastic job.”
Suspense Magazine

“Gripping… [Alice’s] past is peppered with secrets and the damage is revealed in a split narrative between now and then, culminating in an edge of the seat ending.”
Sunday Post (UK)

“Swanson has drawn on Alfred Hitchcock to good effect. In All the Beautiful Lies, he looks instead to du Maurier.… The reader is soon gripped and wondering which will come first: Harry’s seduction or his death? Swanson’s magpie borrowings are always finessed into something fresh and piquant.”
Guardian

“This atmospheric, stylish mystery is pure pleasure.”
Sunday Mirror (UK)

“An explosive mix of seductions, obsessions, and dark secrets.”
— New York Journal of Books

All the Beautiful Lies has a very rich texture which the reader gets to see only gradually, so cleverly it is disguised.”
— Thriller Books Journal

“Crammed with twists, turns, and duplicity galore… The narrative… soars to a nerve-shredding finale that will leave you gasping.”
— Saga (UK)

All the Beautiful Lies was hard to put down… This mystery with a twist was outstanding.”
— Iron Mountain Daily News

“A compulsive read.”
— Good Housekeeping, Thriller of the Month (UK)

“There are many twists and turns, and quite a few surprises along the way…. All the Beautiful Lies is very much character-driven and strong on psychology…. A solid, twisty work of suspense.”
— PCA/ACA Mystery & Detective Fiction Reading List


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062427052
ISBN-10: 0062427059
Publisher: William Morrow
Publication Date: April 3rd, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs