One Half from the East (Paperback)

One Half from the East Cover Image
$6.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
1 on hand, as of Aug 14 9:15am
(Children - MidChild)
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Aug 14 9:15am
(Children - MidChild)

Description


Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.

Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.

Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.

Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

About the Author


Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. In 2002, Nadia made her first trip to Afghanistan with her parents. She is a pediatrician and lives with her family in the Washington, DC, suburbs. She is the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle grade novels One Half from the East and The Sky at Our Feet. Visit her online at www.nadiahashimi.com.

Praise For…


“Like its young protagonist, One Half from the East dances between hope and hard realities. Obayda’s struggle to define herself in a world that is all too eager to do the job for her is captivating.”
— Cassie Beasley, author of Circus Mirandus

“Told in clear, vivid prose that combines detailed descriptions of daily life with a good dose of adventure, this story... This is an excellent title that will offer students a window into life in Afghanistan and open interesting, age-appropriate conversations about gender expectations and roles in different countries.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“By focusing on gender inequality as seen through the lens of a traditional society, Hashimi lets readers see themselves in Obayda’s emotions, even as the outcomes remain true to the Afghan culture Hashimi portrays so fluently.”
— The Horn Book

“The first-person point of view in this novel will be impactful and meaningful to readers. Hashimi’s Obayda will provide readers with insightful information about Islamic culture, and particularly the Afghani culture, as it relates to girls.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“With beautiful language, rich characters, and a perspective not often seen in children’s literature, this heartbreaking story will leave a lasting mark.”
— Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062421913
ISBN-10: 0062421913
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 6th, 2018
Pages: 288
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-9pm Fri-Sat 10am-10pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs