Symptoms of Being Human (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Symptoms of Being Human Cover Image
$9.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
1 on hand, as of Oct 15 8:45am
(Children - Young Adult)
Northshire Saratoga
2 on hand, as of Oct 15 8:45am
(Children - Young Adult)

Staff Reviews


Gender-fluid teen, Riley comes to terms with the one thing that tends to be pretty solid, ones sexuality. Yet Riley never really has the compass needle pointing to one solid gender….it bounces back and forth, depending on the day, mood and events around them. In hopes of coming to an understanding of who they are, and to fulfill their therapist’s request of possibly starting a blog, Riley starts an online journal that takes on a life of its own. Dealing with contemporary issues, Garvin adds to the novels of the new teen. — Jeanette

Riley is a teen struggling with moving to a new high school, being the child of a congressman during a busy election season, and coming to terms with being a gender fluid individual. This is a book every teenager should read to learn compassion and understanding for others who fall outside of the socially accepted norm. A compelling read that will keep you hooked from the very first page! — Laura Knapp

Description


Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

About the Author


Before becoming a writer, Jeff Garvin acted in films and TV and was the front man of a nationally touring rock band. He has a BFA in film from Chapman University and lives in Southern California, surrounded by adorable, shedding beasts. Symptoms of Being Human is his first novel.

Praise For…


“Riley is a smart, funny, sharp-eyed force”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“One of the first YA books to deal with the complex issue of gender fluidity…Riley’s emotional life and personal growth shed welcome light on a hitherto obscure subject.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“Vibrantly imagined…a welcome mirror for gender-fluid teens.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“With a main character who truly deserves to be called unique, combined with heartbreak and triumphs that are universal, this unforgettable book made me laugh, and also cry: Garvin’s powerful new voice rocks!”
— Lissa Price, international bestselling author of Starters

“Riley Cavanaugh is a sharp, funny, powerful voice for those who haven’t quite found theirs yet. Both highly entertaining and highly necessary, Symptoms is the kind of book that makes you a better human for having read it. I loved it.”
— Dahlia Adler, author of Under the Lights and Just Visiting

“A moving portrayal of what it means to be different, yet the same, all at once. Jeff Garvin has written a beautifully thoughtful book.”
— Renee Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn

“An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062382870
ISBN-10: 006238287X
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: November 14th, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs