Symptoms of Being Human (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Symptoms of Being Human Cover Image
$9.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
5 on hand, as of Nov 16 9:30am
(Children - Young Adult)
Northshire Saratoga
5 on hand, as of Nov 16 9:30am
(Children - Young Adult)

Staff Reviews


Gender-fluid teen, Riley comes to terms with the one thing that tends to be pretty solid, ones sexuality. Yet Riley never really has the compass needle pointing to one solid gender….it bounces back and forth, depending on the day, mood and events around them. In hopes of coming to an understanding of who they are, and to fulfill their therapist’s request of possibly starting a blog, Riley starts an online journal that takes on a life of its own. Dealing with contemporary issues, Garvin adds to the novels of the new teen. — Jeanette

Description


Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in uber-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062382870
ISBN-10: 006238287X
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: November 14th, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs