Truly Devious: A Mystery (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Truly Devious: A Mystery Cover Image
$9.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
3 on hand, as of Dec 13 9:30am
(Children - Young Adult)
Northshire Saratoga
3 on hand, as of Dec 13 9:30am
(Children - Young Adult)

Staff Reviews


Stevie Bell is a junior at a elite boarding school built by a 1920s railroad baron. She got in because of her essay, she wanted in because of the murders… She wants to solve them. But cold cases are hard to break, and in the meantime there are new friends to make, classes to attend, secret tunnels to explore... Intriguing and funny, this is a faster read than it looks, and Stevie is a great sarcastic main character!
14+ for drugs/drinking and frank teen conversations

— Leah Moore

Super sleuth, Stevie Bell, has been accepted to Ellingham Academy, a prestigious school for gifted children. She has been sought out to use her crime solving skills to help solve a hundred year old mystery that looms over the academy. While knee-deep in old mysteries a student is murdered and Stevie must use her skills once again. Set in Vermont, this new series is sure to pull you in!

— Whitney Kaaz

Wow! What can I say about this book, except read it now!
Stevie, a self taught Sherlock, is more than a little obsessed by a cold case she’s discovered online, but when she gets to attend the actual school where the murders took place, she sets about solving it herself. This book is truly devious indeed, with excellent plot twists, riddles and intriguing characters. Set near Burlington, VT.

— Becky Doherty

Description


Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018 * Junior Library Guild Selection * 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018 * Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. 

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

About the Author


Maureen Johnson is the bestselling author of several novels, including 13 Little Blue Envelopes, the Truly Devious series, the Suite Scarlett series, and the Shades of London series. She has also written collaborative works such as Let It Snow with John Green and Lauren Myracle and The Bane Chronicles with Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan. Maureen lives in New York and online on Twitter @maureenjohnson or at www.maureenjohnsonbooks.com. 

Praise For…


“The Agatha Christie-like ecosystem pairs with lacerating contemporary wit, and alternating past and present scenes makes for a multilayered, modern detective story.”
— New York Times Book Review

“Jumping between past and present, Johnson’s novel is deliciously atmospheric, with a sprawling cast of complex suspects/potential victims, surprising twists, and a dash of romance. As in her Shades of London books, Johnson remains a master at combining jittery tension with sharp, laugh-out-loud observations.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Johnson deftly twists two mysteries together—Stevie’s investigation is interspersed with case files and recollections from the Ellington kidnapping—and the result is a suspenseful, attention-grabbing mystery with no clear solution. The versatile Johnson is no stranger to suspense, and this twisty thriller will leave plenty of readers anxious for more.”
— Booklist

“The story raises more questions than answers, leaving readers hoping Johnson has another entry up her clever sleeves. A classic mystery that would make Dame Agatha proud.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Agatha Christie meets Riverdale in Maureen Johnson’s latest, which offers two gripping mysteries rolled into one. Truly Devious adds a modern flair to that delicious classic mystery novel-reading experience in which every passage seems rife with potential suspects and clues.”
— Chicago Tribune

“Stevie Bell is a dyed-in-the-wool true-crime buff…a smart, relatable, self-aware protagonist. Fans of puzzles, boarding school stories, and true crime will tear through this book and love every minute.”
— School Library Journal

“Told in alternating chapters, Johnson’s finely tuned plot effectively employs classical mystery tropes while maintaining a thoroughly modern sensibility. Stevie’s quirky, ragtag bunch of new friends crosses sexuality and class lines, providing teen readers with a wealth of characters to connect with.”
— Horn Book Magazine

“Remember the first time reading Harry Potter and knowing it was something special? There’s that same sense of magic in the introduction of teen Sherlock-in-training Stevie Bell. Parallel mysteries unfold with cleverly written dialogue, page-turning brilliance and a young sleuth just as captivating as Hercule Poirot.”
— USA Today (four stars)

“Johnson quickly sets the game afoot, skillfully introducing a Clue-like set of characters, laying out various motives, and hinting at long held secrets. There’s a delicious slow-burn element to the locked-room mystery in Stevie’s present, while the chapters on the kidnappings read like a true crime novel.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“An intricately plotted, compulsively readable novel that explores not only fascinating crimes but also the mysteries of anxiety, the creative process, contemporary fame, and so much else.”
— John Green, author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down

“Maureen Johnson has a totally original mind, a passionate set of moral convictions, an extraordinary sense of bravery and ridiculousness, and she writes pretty sentences.  Read whatever she writes.”
— E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud

“Be still, my Agatha-Christie-loving beating heart.”
— Bustle

“So much to love in this book! The dueling mysteries, present and past. The incredible mansion/school setting. The smart, diverse and quirky characters. This mystery had us fooled at every turn! And the best news? It’s the first in a series.”
— Justine Magazine

“This read is perfect for those who enjoy twisty, turny plots and a high-stakes mystery.”
— Buzzfeed

Truly Devious is filled with twists and turns—plus Maureen Johnson is very, very funny.”
— Harlan Coben


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062338068
ISBN-10: 0062338064
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: December 4th, 2018
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: Truly Devious
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs