Red Queen (Paperback) | Northshire Bookstore

Red Queen (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Red Queen Cover Image
$12.99
Click Title for IN STORE Location
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Jan 16 6:19pm
(CH YOUNG ADULT)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Red Queen series.


Staff Reviews


One of my favorite fantasy reads of the year--which is quite a feat, by the way--portrays a society divided not by class nor wealth but by blood. The Reds are normal humans, ordinary and forced to serve the Silver Elite. The Silvers rule society with their silver blood that gives them special abilities such as mind control or fire powers. Mare is a Red who, by miraculous circumstances, discovers she has powers as well. The King decides to hide her Red blood and train her as a Silver, giving her a new alias to explain her sudden appearance. Her strength, independence, and wit mixed with the mysterious yet kind nature of the two firebending princes (still can’t decide which one is my fictitious husband *swoons*) give way to the perfect YA Fantasy novel and a thrilling series. — Adelia Callear

Victoria Aveyard knows what she's doing and how she's doing it when she wrote this book. I honestly thought this would be another typical YA dystopian love-triangle storyline, but Red Queen became so much more with every page I turned. You’ll thoroughly enjoy this first chapter of the book series, which is filled with foreshadowing, shocks and enticing characters. I look forward to reading the next book in the series. — Jules Wagner

There are two kinds of people in the kingdom of Norta, the oppressed Reds, who are regular humans like us, and the ruling Silvers, whose silver blood imbues them with superhuman powers and abilities. But when Mare, a Red, publicly discovers powers of her own, her world is thrown into chaos. With the hero narrative of Mockingjay, the superpower struggles of X-Men, and the political conflict of Game of Thrones, this YA series is gripping from start to finish!

Virginia Edinger

Description


The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction.

One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

Plus don't miss Realm Breaker! Irresistibly action-packed and full of lethal surprises, this stunning fantasy series from Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Red Queen series, begins where hope is lost and asks: When the heroes have fallen, who will take up the sword?

About the Author


Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling Red Queen series, and you can visit her online at www.victoriaaveyard.com.

Praise For…


“A sizzling, imaginative thriller, where romance and revolution collide, where power and justice duel. It’s exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable.”
USA Today

“Aveyard weaves a compelling new world of action-packed surprises... inventive, character-driven.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A volatile world with a dynamic heroine.”
Booklist

“Breakneck pace and engaging characters.”
— School Library Journal

“ [Aveyard] sets her audience up for a gaspworthy twist that reconfigures nearly every character’s role and leaves Mare with no one to trust but herself... This blend of fantasy and dystopia will be an unexpected and worthy addition to many genre fans’ reading list.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Fascinating world building... Readers will be intrigued by a world that reflects today’s troubling issues concerning ethnic inequality, unfair distribution of wealth, pollution, warfare, political corruption, and the frightening power of the media.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062310644
ISBN-10: 006231064X
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 7th, 2016
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Red Queen