Everything That Makes You (Paperback) | Northshire Bookstore

Everything That Makes You (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Everything That Makes You Cover Image
$9.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


This book is about two stories and one girl. Fiona Doyle had an accident where half of her face is badly scarred. Fi Doyle, a lacrosse player, does not have a scar. This book ponders what would happen if the events in our lives were different. How would it turn out? Well done. — Fran Tobia

Description


Ever wonder "What if?"

Now available in paperback, Everything That Makes You is an epic romance about one girl—and the two possible lives she might have lived if an accident hadn’t changed everything. Intense and beautifully written, this is a realistic contemporary novel with a twist, perfect for fans of If I Stay by Gayle Forman and Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.

Fiona Doyle's face was horribly scarred as a child. She writes about her frustrations and dreams in notebooks, penning song lyrics—but she'd never be brave enough to sing those songs in public or to Trent, the boy she’s always loved. Fi Doyle never had an accident. She's the best lacrosse player in the state and can't be distracted by her bff, Trent, who wants to be more than that. Then one day, her luck on the field goes south, and everything’s not so easy anymore.

Alternating chapters between Fiona and Fi tell two separate stories about the same girl and feature many of the same characters. It’s fun to see how the characters change between the two stories, and how Fiona and Fi are alike and different.

About the Author


Moriah McStay attended Northwestern University and the University of Chicago. Two graduate degrees and seven jobs later, she’s finally figured out what she wants to be when she grows up. Now she lives in Memphis, Tennessee, with her husband and three daughters. She’s happy with all the choices and chances that brought her there.

Everything That Makes You is her first novel for teens, and she’s probably at home right now working on another one.

Praise For…


Entertaining and intellectually stimulating, the novel invites discussion about how much of a person’s life is determined by events and whether some tendencies are inborn.
Publishers Weekly

McStay’s debut explores the theme of choices and how those choices become the framework for the person who makes them.
— School Library Journal

It’s impressive that McStay makes readers invest in both Fi and Fiona simultaneously; teens who have ever wondered what it might be like to live a totally different life will appreciate this experiment.
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Everything That Makes You is an inspiring exploration of destiny, strength, and the power of human connection. I loved Moriah McStay’s spot-on dialogue and strong characters. A striking debut!
— Susane Colasanti, bestselling author of Something Like Fate

The amazing dual stories of Fi and Fiona dare us to consider what it means to be driven by our passions, and how a twist of fate can alter our lives forever. A winning debut.
— Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and The Things You Kiss Goodbye


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062295491
ISBN-10: 0062295497
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English