Don't Turn Around (Paperback) | Northshire Bookstore

Don't Turn Around (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Don't Turn Around Cover Image
$10.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


Sixteen-year-old Noa has dealt with the good and bad since her parent’s death. Mostly the bad. She has survived by her talent for computer hacking. But when she wakes up in a warehouse, IV in her arm and no memory, even her skills may not be able to help her. When "rich boy" Peter reaches out to the hacker community to help with his own problems, the two meet. And become mixed up in a terrible secret that literally goes “to the top” and anyone can be involved. Science and fiction blend effortlessly in this mystery for the 21st century. — Jeanette

Description


In Michelle Gagnon’s debut YA thriller, Don’t Turn Around, computer hacker Noa Torson is as smart, tough, and complex as The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’s Lisbeth Salander.
 
The first in a trilogy, Don’t Turn Around’s intricate plot and heart-pounding action will leave readers desperate for book two.
 
Sixteen-year-old Noa has been a victim of the system ever since her parents died. Now living off the grid and trusting no one, she uses her hacking skills to stay anonymous and alone. But when she wakes up on a table in a warehouse with an IV in her arm and no memory of how she got there, Noa starts to wish she had someone on her side.

Enter Peter Gregory. A rich kid and the leader of a hacker alliance, Peter needs people with Noa’s talents on his team. Especially after a shady corporation threatens his life in no uncertain terms. But what Noa and Peter don’t realize is that Noa holds the key to a terrible secret, and there are those who’d stop at nothing to silence her for good.
 

About the Author


Michelle Gagnon has been a modern dancer, a dog walker, a bartender, a freelance journalist, a personal trainer, and a model. Her bestselling thrillers for adults have been published in numerous countries and include The Tunnels, Boneyard, The Gatekeeper, and Kidnap & Ransom. Don't Turn Around, Don't Look Now, and Don't Let Go are her first three novels for young adults.

Praise For…


“Gagnon’s YA debut is a pulse-pounding scary-great read…[that] will have teens begging for more. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for preteens and teens, a surefire hit.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A tight, well-written thriller from a best-selling adult writer. The action and the developments come fast and furious all the way to the end.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Be prepared to stay up all night reading.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (starred review)

“A fast-paced, rip-roaring thriller for all ages.”
— Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Gagnon’s writing draws readers effortlessly into an adrenaline-packed ride. This is a smart, gripping addition to the growing hacker-action genre with strong appeal to fans of Doctorow’s Little Brother and Falkner’s Brain Jack.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A sophisticated, mind-bending thriller.”
— Katie Crouch, New York Times bestselling author of Girls in Trucks and The Magnolia League

“An action packed, heart-thumping thriller. Clever, exciting and heart-wrenching. It’s the kind of book that starts out with a bang and barely gives you time to breathe.”
— Publishers Weekly on the audio edition


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062102911
ISBN-10: 0062102915
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 9th, 2013
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Don't Turn Around
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs