The All of It: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The All of It: A Novel By Jeannette Haien Cover Image
$13.99
In Stock
Northshire Manchester
2 on hand, as of Dec 1 6:19pm
(LIT-FIC)

Staff Reviews


This is a simple, exquisite gem of a story set in a small Irish town. Each sentence is a work of art and not the slightest idea or emotion goes unnoticed. Lovely and dear. — Karen Frank

Lyrical writing and well-drawn characters in a beautiful novel that deals delicately with a sensitive issue--a rewarding read on many levels. — Louise Jones

Description


“A quiet little stunner, written with the sure hand of an artist and the ear of a seasoned storyteller.” —St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Jeannette Haien’s award-winning first novel relates the seemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangled confession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not only the clergyman, but the reader as well.

While fishing in an Irish salmon stream one rainy morning, Father Declan de Loughry ponders the recent deathbed confession of his parishioner Kevin Dennehy. It seems Dennehy and his wife, Enda, had been quietly living a lie for fifty years. Yet the gravity of their deception doesn’t become clear to the good father until Enda shares the full tale of her suffering, finally confiding “the all of it.”

Haien’s intimate novel of conversations and dilemmas—perfect for readers of Paul Harding’s Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, and Flannery O’Connor’s Wise Blood—is “an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale of morality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way” hails the New York Times Book Review. This special edition includes an introduction by Ann Patchett.

About the Author


Jeannette Haien is the author of the acclaimed novel The All of It , winner of the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In addition to her career as a writer, Jeannette Haien is well known as a concert pianist and teacher. She and her husband, a lawyer, live in New York City and Connemara, Ireland.

Praise For…


“One of the year’s finest novels, a moral story of the most complex sort.” — Peter Prescott, Newsweek

“An elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale of morality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way.” — New York Times Book Review

“Jeannette Haien is a writer of vast compassion, and her characters are rich in something all too rare these days: dignity.” — Newsday

“A quiet little stunner, written with the sure hand of an artist and the ear of a seasoned storyteller.” — St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“A beautiful miniature, written by an author with a love of language and a flair for storytelling.” — Cleveland Plain Dealer



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062090096
ISBN-10: 0062090097
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: June 7th, 2011
Pages: 160
Language: English