Bottom of the 33rd: Hope, Redemption, and Baseball's Longest Game (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Bottom of the 33rd: Hope, Redemption, and Baseball's Longest Game Cover Image
$14.99
Backordered

Staff Reviews


I must confess, when originally offered the opportunity to read an advance copy of Bottom Of The Thirty Third, I had some misgivings. I am a baseball fan for sure, but even a baseball fan can get itchy now and then when a low scoring game heads into the 10th, 11th, then 12th inning, and neither team seems to want the win. "33 innings," I thought, that's a lot of low scoring innings to profile. But then I paused. "Unless..." I began to think. Unless there was a particular variety of baseball magic in the air that evening. Unless the author somehow manages to capture the grace and humanity inherent to the game of baseball. Unless the untainted nitty gritty dignity of the minor leagues, and a love of the game that may or may not get a given player a shot at the major leagues, unless that comes shining through. Unless the few die hard fans freezing cold in the Easter morning chill, the scorekeeper, the announcers no one has ever heard of- unless they have a story to tell as well. Author Dan Barry has given us all that and more. A portrait of an endless game for the ages, a cross roads of humanity- some bound for glory (Boggs, Ripken and more), others obscurity- and a cross roads of American civilization played out in the former mill town of Pawtucket, Rhode Island. On the one hand, it is a simple formula- take us through a few snippets of the game, then offer background profiles of the city or a given player or fan or coach, each in turn. Yet the simplicity is deceiving- this is the stuff that Pulitzers are made of. A warm, insightful revelation of a particular and memorable slice of Americana. — Jon Fine

Description


Bottom of the 33rd is chaw-chewing, sunflower-spitting, pine tar proof that too much baseball is never enough.” —Jane Leavy, author of The Last Boy and Sandy Koufax 

“What a book—an exquisite exercise in story-telling, democracy and myth-making.” —Colum McCann, winner of the National Book Award for  Let The Great World Spin 

From Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times columnist Dan Barry comes the beautifully recounted story of the longest game in baseball history—a tale celebrating not only the robust intensity of baseball, but the aspirational ideal epitomized by the hard-fighting players of the minor leagues. In the tradition of Moneyball, The Last Hero, and Wicked Good Year, Barry’s Bottom of the 33rd is a reaffirming story of the American Dream finding its greatest expression in timeless contests of the Great American Pastime.

About the Author


Dan Barry is a reporter and columnist for the New York Times. In 1994 he was part of an investigative team at the Providence Journal that won the Pulitzer Prize for a series of articles on Rhode Island’s justice system. He is the author of a memoir, a collection of his About New York columns, and Bottom of the 33rd, for which he won the 2012 PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing. He lives with his wife and two daughters in Maplewood, New Jersey.

Praise For…


Winner of the 2012 PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sportswriting


Dan Barry has crafted a loving and lyrical tribute to a time and a place when you stayed until the final out...because that’s what we did in America. Bottom of the 33rd is chaw-chewing, sunflower-spitting, pine tar proof that too much baseball is never enough.
— –Jane Leavy

“What a book -- an exquisite exercise in story-telling, democracy and myth-making that has, at its center, a great respect for the symphony of voices that make up America.”
— –Colum McCann

“Dan’s Barry’s meticulous reporting and literary talent are both evident in Bottom of the 33rd, a pitch-perfect and seamless meditation on baseball and the human condition.”
— –Gay Talese

“A fascinating, beautifully told story... In the hands of Barry, a national correspondent for the New York Times, this marathon of duty, loyalty, misery and folly becomes a riveting narrative...The book feels like ‘Our Town’ on the diamond.”
— –Los Angeles Times

“An astonishing tale that lyrically articulates baseball’s inexorable grip on its players and fans, Bottom of the 33rd belongs among the best baseball books ever written.”
— –Cleveland Plain Dealer

“Meticulously researched and tremendously entertaining!”
— –Columbus Dispatch

“[Dan] Barry does more than simply recount the inning-by-inning-by-inning box score. He delves beneath the surface, like an archaeologist piecing together the shards and fragments of a forgotten society, to reconstruct a time and a night that have become part of baseball lore.”
— –Associated Press

“Whether you’re a baseball aficionado or a reader who just enjoys a good yarn, you’ll love this book.”
— –Minneapolis Star Tribune

“A worthy companion to Roger Kahn’s classic Boys of Summer ...[Dan Barry] exploits the power of memory and nostalgia with literary grace and journalistic exactitude. He blends a vivid, moment-by-moment re-creation of the game with what happens to its participants in the next 30 years.”
— –Stefan Fatsis, New York Times

“Brilliantly rendered...The book is both a fount of luxurious writing and a tour-de-force of reportage.”
— –Washington Post

“[An] heroic conjuring of the past.”
— –New York Times Book Review

“[A] masterpiece...destined for the Hall of Fame of baseball books.”
— –Publisher's Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062014498
ISBN-10: 0062014498
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: March 27th, 2012
Pages: 272
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs