Extra Yarn (Hardcover) | Northshire Bookstore

Extra Yarn (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Extra Yarn Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$17.99
Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Northshire Manchester
1 on hand, as of Jan 18 10:45am
(Children - Picture Books)
Northshire Saratoga
1 on hand, as of Jan 18 10:45am
(Children - Picture Books)

Staff Reviews


Wonderful story about a girl who brightens up her cold little town with her magic box of yarn. Word spreads of the town and the magic yarn but the magic only works for her. Amazing illustrations by Jon Klassen, author of I Want My Hat Back. Love it!

— Whitney Kaaz

Winter 2012 Kids' Next List


“The town where Annabelle lives is a very boring place; a dull grey city where nobody wears anything colorful at all. One day Annabelle finds a box full of yarn, so she knits herself a sweater. But she finds that she has extra yarn left over. Soon, she is knitting sweaters for everyone and everything (even a pickup truck!) and her town is becoming brighter by the stitch. Somehow, she always has extra yarn!”
— Maryam Yachnes, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA

Description


From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

About the Author


Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author whose books have been translated into more than thirty languages. His picture books include two Caldecott Honor–winning collaborations with Jon Klassen: Sam & Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn. Among his other popular books are I Love You Like a Pig, illustrated by Greg Pizzoli, and The Magic Word, illustrated by Elise Parsley. He lives in Oakland, California. You can visit him online at www.macbarnett.com.



Jon Klassen is a Canadian-born author-illustrator. His books include I Want My Hat Back; This Is Not My Hat, winner of the Caldecott Medal; and We Found a Hat. He is a member of the Order of Canada in recognition of his contributions to children’s literature. He currently lives and works in Los Angeles with his wife and two sons.

Praise For…


“There’s nothing to say but—perfect.”
— Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of It's a Book

“Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Klassen’s deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett’s quirky droll writing.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Klassen’s pacing, especially the mostly wordless sequence when the box floats back to Annabelle on a triangle of an iceberg, is impeccable. The final spread, all light and yarn-covered tree limbs, brings Barnett’s clever, quiet yarn full circle, to a little girl and a town, now colorful and happy.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“Reading like a droll fairy tale, this Barnett-Klassen collaboration is both seamless and magical. The spare, elegant text and art are also infused with plenty of deadpan humor. Quirky and wonderful, this story quietly celebrates a child’s ingenuity and her ability to change the world around her.”
Booklist (starred review)


Product Details
ISBN: 9780061953385
ISBN-10: 0061953385
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: January 17th, 2012
Pages: 40
Language: English
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs