The Wee Free Men (Tiffany Aching #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Wee Free Men (Tiffany Aching #1) Cover Image
Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Northshire Manchester
1 on hand, as of Apr 11 6:16pm

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Tiffany Aching series.

Staff Reviews

Armed with nothing more than a skillet and the knowledge that she is Tiffany Aching of the Chalk, one lone girl and hundreds of kilt-wearing, sword- fighting, lawyer-hating Nac Mac Feegle will stop at nothing to get her little brother back. Oh, and did we mention that Tiffany is only 9? Or that the Nac Mac Feegle are only 6 inches tall? And who could forget that her little brother was stolen by the queen of the fairies? I love this book because of its gung-ho heroism and the clear message throughout that if you know yourself then you can do anything. That, and itty bitty blue kilt-clad scottsmen swearing “Ach Crivens!” every five minutes, makes for a heartwarming laugh that I will read again and again. — Talon Birns

Armed with a frying pan and common sense, witch-to-be Tiffany has many adventures when she goes into Fairyland to save her family. With serious humor, magic, and the Nac Mac Feegle--or more commonly known as the Wee Free Men--Pratchett created a great book for lovers of fantasy, his other works, readers of humor or if you are a first time reader of his novels. This truly is a book for teens and adults alike. — Jeanette


The first in a series of Discworld novels starring the young witch Tiffany Aching.

A nightmarish danger threatens from the other side of reality. . . .

Armed with only a frying pan and her common sense, young witch-to-be Tiffany Aching must defend her home against the monsters of Fairyland. Luckily she has some very unusual help: the local Nac Mac Feegle—aka the Wee Free Men—a clan of fierce, sheep-stealing, sword-wielding, six-inch-high blue men.

Together they must face headless horsemen, ferocious grimhounds, terrifying dreams come true, and ultimately the sinister Queen of the Elves herself. . . .

About the Author

Sir Terry Pratchett was the internationally bestselling author of more than thirty books, including his phenomenally successful Discworld series. His young adult novel, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents, won the Carnegie Medal, and Where's My Cow?, his Discworld book for “readers of all ages,” was a New York Times bestseller. His novels have sold more than seventy five million (give or take a few million) copies worldwide. Named an Officer of the British Empire “for services to literature,” Pratchett lived in England. He died in 2015 at the age of sixty-six.

Praise For…

“Like Celtic mythology fused with ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer.’”
New York Times Book Review

“Wonderful language, genuinely scary explorations, and a young girl whose growing up is believable and exciting.”
— The Chicago Tribune

“An enthralling and rewarding read.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A glorious read.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Just the package to appeal to those who admire not just a brave heart but a quick comeback as well.”
— The Horn Book (starred review)

“The Carnegie Medal winner’s fans will not be disappointed.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“The humor and the danger will appeal to Discworld fans and also readers who relish J. K. Rowling’s Harry.”
— ALA Booklist

“A lovely romp for Pratchett fans of all ages.”
— Locus

“Perfect for anyone who enjoys The Princess Bride and the works of Douglas Adams.” (starred review)

Product Details
ISBN: 9780060012380
ISBN-10: 0060012382
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: August 15th, 2006
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Tiffany Aching
Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Daily 10am-6pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs