Blood (Black with blood Red Splatter Vinyl, Limited Edition, Sticker, Indie Exclusive) - Hatfield, Juliana ALAU540.1 - Vinyl LP

SKU: 0616011914610
On Our Shelves Now
Northshire Manchester
1 on hand, as of Jun 18 6:18pm

Blood is Juliana Hatfield's 19th solo studio album of originals, and a deep dive into the dark side. The album is a brutal and critical look at modern human psychology and behavior; at personal and societal sickness. I think these songs are a reaction to how seriously and negatively a lot of people have been affected by the past four years, says Juliana. But it's fun, musically. There's a lot of playing around. I didn't really have a plan when I started this project.

Chunks and Had A Dream are gritty and abrasive while Mouthful of Blood and Gorgon are groovy and ultra-melodic. All of it is eminently hummable and thought-provoking. Sophisticated but catchy. Challenging but danceable. I always love coming up with melodies and then trying to fit words into them-it's like doing a puzzle, says Juliana. And I always find places to use the Mellotron flutes and strings, on every album, because those sounds are so beautiful to me. They are a nice counterpoint to the damaged lyrical content. The album was recorded largely at home-Juliana's home in Massachusetts and new collaborator Jed Davis' home in Connecticut. During self-isolation I took the opportunity to finally learn how to record into my laptop, says Juliana, and that's how this album came to be. (Usually I work in a studio.) I did more than half the work in my room-with Jed helping me to troubleshoot the technology, and helping with building and arranging some of the songs-and then I finished up with additional overdubs and mixing with engineer James Bridges at Q Division Studios in Somerville, MA.

  • 1 The Shame of Love
  • 2 Gorgon
  • 3 Nightmary
  • 4 Had a Dream
  • 5 Splinter
  • 6 Suck It Up
  • 7 Chunks
  • 8 Mouthful of Blood
  • 9 Dead Weight
  • 10 Torture