Blogs

Man with an Axe

Staff Pick Badge
Man with an Axe: A Detective Sergeant Mullheisen Mystery (Detective Sergeant Mulheisen Mysteries) By Jon A. Jackson, Jr. Jackson, John A. Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9780802136039
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Grove Press - February 5th, 1999

For fans of Elmore Leonard, Robert Parker, even James Ellroy (but with humor). Jackson is an astounding but little-known mystery writer. ~ Reviewed by Louise Jones


Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage by Alfred Lansing - Book Review

Staff Pick Badge
Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage By Alfred Lansing Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780465062881
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Basic Books - April 28th, 2015

The best account of the most incredible true adventure/survival story of the 20th century!! ~ Reviewed by Bill Lewis


A Rat's Tale

Staff Pick Badge
A Rat's Tale By Tor Seidler, Fred Marcellino (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tor Seidler, Fred Marcellino (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374400316
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - September 24th, 2008

If you loved Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH, you'll love this tender story about love, belong, and a rat's place in the world. Humorous and warm by the author of Wainscott Weasel.


The Great Shame

Staff Pick Badge
The Great Shame: And the Triumph of the Irish in the English-Speaking World By Thomas Keneally Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780385720267
Availability: Special Order
Published: Anchor - September 12th, 2000

Thomas Keneally's The Great Shame is the story of the Irish diaspora, told in the voice of political prisoners, including some of Keneally's own ancestors. A huge book, it is worth taking the time to read for its information alone, but it is also a pleasure to listen to the language.


Wintering

Staff Pick Badge
Wintering By William Durbin Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9780980104592
Availability: Special Order
Published: Adventurekeen - December 1st, 2009

Excellent historical piece that accurately portrays the rugged life of the voyageurs who comprise the transportation for the Northwest Fur company, Hudson Bay company, and others. Set in 1801, just south of what is now the Canadian border.


Out of the Dust

Staff Pick Badge
Out of the Dust (Scholastic Gold) By Karen Hesse Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780590371254
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - January 1st, 1999

A must read for everyone! This excellently executed story told in the form of a poem captures the heart of the depression era dust bowl. It will have you wiping the dust from your eyes. A Newberry Medal winner. ~ Reviewed by Jessica Wood


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - blogs