Biography & Autobiography Books - Business

The Man Who Solved the Market: How Jim  Simons Launched the Quant Revolution Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780735217980
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Portfolio - November 5th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Shortlisted for the Financial Times/McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award

The perfect gift for the avid reader on your list: the unbelievable story of a secretive mathematician who pioneered the era of the algorithm--and made $23 billion doing it.


The Harder You Work, the Luckier You Get: An Entrepreneur's Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501164781
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - November 5th, 2019

Joe Ricketts, founder of TD Ameritrade, shares the epic inside story of how a working-class kid from the Nebraska prairie took on Wall Street’s clubby brokerage business, busted it open, and walked away a billionaire.

Joe Ricketts always had the gift of seeing what others missed.


Depot to Depot: A Transformational Leadership Journey from the Military to Corporate America Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781633939172
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Koehler Books - October 10th, 2019

". . . a must read for not only transitioning veterans but for those looking to
hire veterans."
--Beau Higgins, Senior Manager, Military Affairs Team at Amazon

Foreword by Lt. Gen. Richard Mills, USMC (Ret),
President & CEO, Marine Corps University Foundation


Hit Refresh: The Quest to Rediscover Microsoft's Soul and Imagine a Better Future for Everyone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062959720
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper Business - November 5th, 2019

“At the core, Hit Refresh, is about us humans and the unique quality we call empathy, which will become ever more valuable in a world where the torrent of technology will disrupt the status quo like never before.” – Satya Nadella from Hit Refresh


Binga: The Rise and Fall of Chicago's First Black Banker (Second to None: Chicago Stories) Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780810140905
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Northwestern University Press - November 15th, 2019

Binga is the definitive full-length biography of Jesse Binga, the first black banker in Chicago. Born into a large family in Detroit, Binga arrived in Chicago in 1892 in his late twenties with virtually nothing.


The Rule: How I Beat the Odds in the Markets and in Life--And How You Can Too Cover Image
By Larry Hite, Michael Covel (Foreword by)
$30.00
ISBN: 9781260452655
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: McGraw-Hill Education - October 1st, 2019

The empowering story of Larry Hite's unlikely rise to the top of the hedge fund world--with critical insights and lessons you can take to the bank


It's How We Play the Game: Build a Business. Take a Stand. Make a Difference. Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982116910
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Scribner - October 8th, 2019

For readers of Phil Knight’s Shoe Dog and Howard Schultz’s Onward, an inspiring memoir from the CEO of DICK’s Sporting Goods about building a multibillion dollar business, coming to the defense of embattled youth sports programs, and taking a principled—and highly controversial—stand against the types of guns that are too often used in mass shootings


Staff Pick Badge
Invested: Changing Forever the Way Americans Invest Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781984822543
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Currency - October 8th, 2019

“To say Charles Schwab is an entrepreneur is actually an understatement. He really is a revolutionary.”—Phil Knight, co-founder of Nike, author of Shoe Dog

The founder of The Charles Schwab Corporation recounts his ups and downs as he made stock investing, once the expensive and clubby reserve of the few, accessible to ordinary Americans.


Leave Something on the Table: and Other Surprising Lessons for Success in Business and in Life Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982114152
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 15th, 2019

One of the most innovative minds in business provides an equally original guide to getting ahead.

Frank Bennack’s accomplishments in media and business are unrivaled.

He was named chief executive of Hearst in 1979, and for nearly 30 years he helped solidify the company’s reputation as a leader in consumer media, overseeing the purchase of more than two dozen telev


Country Boy, City Boy: A Journey that Ain't Over Yet Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781633939073
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Koehler Books - November 25th, 2019

The Most Expensive Racehorse in the World: A True Story of the Global Racing Industry Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781545679951
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mill City Press, Inc. - December 1st, 2019

FUSAICHI PEGASUS WON THE KENTUCKY DERBY RACE IN 2000. THE FIRST FAVORED HORSE TO WIN SINCE 1979. That win set off a riveting tale of a global race to acquire the horse for breeding. A tale that involved the richest horse farms in the world. A race that culminated in the greatest price ever paid for a racehorse. No other racehorse has ever generated such interest or price.


Travels with Figment On the Road in Search of Disney Dreams (Disney Editions Deluxe) Cover Image
By Marty Sklar, Bob Weis (Preface by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9781368023122
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney Editions - November 5th, 2019

Travels with Figment: On the Road in Search of Disney Dreams is the final book from Disney Legend Marty Sklar. In his fifty-four years at Disney-among his assignments in his first ten years was writing personal materials for Walt Disney-Marty travelled the globe, creating Disney magic and committing his adventures to memory.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs