Biography & Autobiography Books - Musicians & Composers - Bestsellers - Page 14

Confess: The Autobiography Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780306874932
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Hachette Books - September 28th, 2021

The legendary frontman of Judas Priest, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, celebrates five decades of heavy metal in this tell-all memoir.

Most priests hear confessions.


Mozart: The Reign of Love Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062433619
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper Perennial - December 7th, 2021

Now in paperback: the definitive biography of one of the most lauded musical geniuses in history, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, by the acclaimed composer and biographer Jan Swafford

At the earliest ages it was apparent that Wolfgang Mozart’s singular imagination was at work in every direction.


Staff Pick Badge
I'm Your Man: The Life of Leonard Cohen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063114906
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Ecco - February 9th, 2021

The New York Times-bestselling, definitive biography of legendary artist Leonard Cohen, now with new afterword by the author

“There is a crack in everything.

That’s how the light gets in.”

— Leonard Cohen


Lady Sings the Blues: The 50th-Anniversay Edition with a Revised Discography (Harlem Moon Classics) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780767923866
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Crown - July 25th, 2006

Perfect for fans of The United States vs. Billie Holiday, this is the fiercely honest, no-holds-barred memoir of the legendary jazz, swing, and standards singing sensation—a fiftieth-anniversary edition updated with stunning new photos, a revised discography, and an insightful foreword by music writer David Ritz


Home Before Daylight: My Life on the Road with the Grateful Dead Cover Image
By Steve Parish, Joe Layden, Bob Weir (Foreword by)
$24.99
ISBN: 9780312333997
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - October 1st, 2004

The untold story of life on the road with the Grateful Dead, written by an insider who lived it from the early days to today.


I, Tina: My Life Story Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780061958809
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Dey Street Books - June 22nd, 2010

“Splendid...this is rock history with substance!” —Susan Brownmiller, Newsday

“What a tale she has to tell!” — Liz Smith, New York Daily News


Les Paul in His Own Words Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781495047398
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Backbeat Books - March 1st, 2016

In 2009, the legendary Les Paul passed away at the age of 94. In celebration of his life, this book, capturing Paul's own reflections on his remarkable inventions and guitar playing, was published as a high-end collector's edition.


The Inextinguishable Symphony: A True Story of Music and Love in Nazi Germany Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780471078647
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Wiley (TP) - August 1st, 2001

NOW AN ACCLAIMED DOCUMENTARY, Winter Journey

Set amid the growing tyranny of Germany's Third Reich, here is the riveting and emotional tale of G nther Goldschmidt and Rosemarie Gumpert, two courageous Jewish musicians who struggled to perform under unimaginable circumstances--and found themselves falling in love in a country bent on destroying them.


Staff Pick Badge
Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl: A Memoir Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780399184765
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Riverhead Books - October 25th, 2016

From the guitarist of the pioneering band Sleater-Kinney, the book Kim Gordon says "everyone has been waiting for" and a New York Times Notable Book of 2015-- a candid, funny, and deeply personal look at making a life--and finding yourself--in music.


Moanin' at Midnight: The Life and Times of Howlin' Wolf Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781560256830
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Da Capo Press - June 3rd, 2005

The definitive biography of the musical giant who became a titan in the blues pantheon


Skydog: The Duane Allman Story Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780879309398
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Backbeat Books - August 1st, 2008

Now in paperback - revised and expanded, with a new afterword by the author - this is the definitive biography of Duane Allman, one of the most revered guitarists of his generation.


Violence Girl: East L.A. Rage to Hollywood Stage, a Chicana Punk Story Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781936239122
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Feral House - September 27th, 2011

The proximity of the East L.A. barrio to Hollywood is as close as a short drive on the 101 freeway, but the cultural divide is enormous. Born to Mexican-born and American-naturalized parents, Alicia Armendariz migrated a few miles west to participate in the free-range birth of the 1970s punk movement.