Biography & Autobiography Books - Literary - Page 4

Never a Lovely So Real: The Life and Work of Nelson Algren Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9780393357899
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 28th, 2020

“Easily the best biography of the great Nelson Algren, and an extraordinary book in its own right.” —Blake Bailey, author of Cheever: A Life


Orwell: A Man Of Our Time Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781448217687
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Caravel - May 12th, 2020

A vivid portrait of the man behind the writings.

As one of the most enduringly popular and controversial novelists of the last century, the 70th anniversary of George Orwell's death in 2020 offers an opportunity to assess his relevance today.


To Be Honest Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781419743054
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Abrams Press - January 5th, 2021

A memoir about an unusual upbringing in a family fanatically devoted to honesty, and what came next
 
If you’re like most people, you probably lied today. It may have been a small one, some insignificant falsehood meant to protect someone’s feelings or guard your true thoughts.


The Weight of the World: A Journal Cover Image
By Peter Handke, Ralph Manheim (Translated by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250767295
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - February 25th, 2020

A combination of professional notebook and personal diary that records -- both in short, informal jottings and through more formal, extended meditations -- the details of Handke's daily life in Paris from November 1975 through March 1977.


Mark Twain, the World, and Me: Following the Equator, Then and Now Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780817359676
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University Alabama Press - March 10th, 2020

WINNER OF THE ELIZABETH AGEE PRIZE IN AMERICAN LITERATURE
 
A scholar accompanies Twain on his journey around the world
 
In Mark Twain, the World, and Me: “Following the Equator,” Then and Now, Susan K. Harris follows Twain’s last lecture tour as he wound his way through the British Empire in 1895–1896.


$26.95
ISBN: 9780826222107
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Missouri - March 16th, 2020

Grace Frick introduced English-language readers all over the world to the distinguished French author Marguerite Yourcenar with her award-winning translation of Yourcenar’s novel Memoirs of Hadrian in 1954. European biographies of Yourcenar have often disparaged Frick and her relationship with Yourcenar, however.


We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It: A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501197109
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - March 3rd, 2020

“You don’t have to be Irish to cherish this literary gift—just being human and curious and from a family will suffice.” —Malachy McCourt, New York Times bestselling author of A Monk Swimming

In the tradition of Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes and Alice Taylor’s To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan&rsq


The Age of Disenchantments: The Epic Story of Spain's Most Notorious Literary Family and the Long Shadow of the Spanish Civil War Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062484208
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ecco - March 31st, 2020

A gripping narrative history of Spain’s most brilliant and troubled literary family—a tale about the making of art, myth, and legacy—set against the upheaval of the Spanish Civil War and beyond


Becoming George Orwell: Life and Letters, Legend and Legacy Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780691182742
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Princeton University Press - February 4th, 2020

The remarkable transformation of Orwell from journeyman writer to towering icon


The Man Who Wrote the Perfect Novel: John Williams, Stoner, and the Writing Life Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781477320105
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Texas Press - February 24th, 2020

When Stoner was published in 1965, the novel sold only a couple of thousand copies before disappearing with hardly a trace. Yet John Williams's quietly powerful tale of a Midwestern college professor, William Stoner, whose life becomes a parable of solitude and anguish eventually found an admiring audience in America and especially in Europe.


Mother Winter: A Memoir Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501193095
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - February 11th, 2020

"Lyrical and emotionally gutting." —O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE
“Intellectually satisfying [and] artistically profound.” —KIRKUS REVIEWS (STARRED REVIEW)
“Mesmeric.”—THE PARIS REVIEW
“Vividly awesome and truly great." —EILEEN MYLES
“Gorgeous, gutting, unforgettable." —LEN


Before Night Falls: A Memoir (Penguin Vitae) Cover Image
By Reinaldo Arenas, Dolores M. Koch (Translated by), Jaime Manrique (Foreword by)
$28.00
ISBN: 9780143134848
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Classics - February 25th, 2020

The acclaimed memoir of homosexual Cuban author Reinaldo Arenas chronicling his tumultuous yet luminary life, from his impoverished upbringing in Cuba to his imprisonment at the hands of a Communist regime. 

A Penguin Vitae Edition


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Daily 12pm-6pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990

Directions to Saratoga Springs