Biography & Autobiography Books - Historical - Page 2

The Greatest Beer Run Ever [Movie Tie-In]: A Memoir of Friendship, Loyalty, and War By John "Chick" Donohue, J. T. Molloy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063285323
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - September 27th, 2022

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY PETER FARRELLY, STARRING ZAC EFRON AND RUSSELL CROWE!

Instant New York Times Bestseller

Instant USA Today Bestseller


Queens of the Age of Chivalry: England's Medieval Queens, Volume Three By Alison Weir Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781101966723
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Ballantine Books - December 6th, 2022

Packed with dramatic true stories from one of European history’s most romantic and turbulent eras, this epic narrative chronicles the five vividly rendered queens of the Plantagenet kings who ruled England between 1299 and 1399.


Do Let's Have Another Drink!: The Dry Wit and Fizzy Life of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother By Mr. Gareth Russell Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668006931
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Atria Books - November 1st, 2022

For fans of The Crown and Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret, a deliciously entertaining collection of 101 fascinating and funny anecdotes about Queen Elizabeth, the Queen Mother—one for each year of her life.

During her lifetime, the Queen Mother was as famous for her clever quips, pointed observations, and dry-as-a-martini delivery style as she was for be


Master Slave Husband Wife: An Epic Journey from Slavery to Freedom By Ilyon Woo Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781501191053
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 17th, 2023

The remarkable true story of Ellen and William Craft, who escaped slavery through daring, determination, and disguise, with Ellen passing as a wealthy, disabled White man and William posing as “his” slave.

In 1848, a year of international democratic revolt, a young, enslaved couple, Ellen and William Craft, achieved one of the boldest feats of self-emancipation in America


Traitor King: The Scandalous Exile of the Duke & Duchess of Windsor By Andrew Lownie Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781639363872
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Pegasus Books - November 8th, 2022

As the history of the House of Windsor increasing comes under scrutiny, here is the story of the Duke and Duchess of Windsor's glittering lives after Edward VIII abdicated the throne—lives that were riddled with treachery and betrayal.

Town & Country "Must Read Book"

December 11, 1936.


Nero: Matricide, Music, and Murder in Imperial Rome By Anthony Everitt, Roddy Ashworth Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593133200
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House - November 8th, 2022

A striking, nuanced biography of Nero—the controversial populist ruler and last of the Caesars—and a vivid portrait of ancient Rome

“This exciting and provocative book grabs the reader while supporting its arguments with careful classical scholarship.”—Barry Strauss, author of The War That Made the Roman Empire


Abraham Lincoln, 2nd Edition: Redeemer President (Library of Religious Biography (Lrb)) By Allen C. Guelzo Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780802878588
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company - November 29th, 2022

Sidney Reilly: Master Spy (Jewish Lives) By Benny Morris Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780300248265
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Yale University Press - October 25th, 2022

A revealing biography of Sidney Reilly, the early twentieth-century virtuoso of espionage
 
“Mr. Morris’s dogged research . . . lends impressive rigor to this portrait of an often-cryptic figure.”—Diane Cole, Wall Street Journal
 
Sidney Reilly (c.


Staff Pick Badge
Becoming FDR: The Personal Crisis That Made a President By Jonathan Darman Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781400067077
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House - September 6th, 2022

“An illuminating account of how Franklin D. Roosevelt’s struggles with polio steeled him for the great struggles of the Depression and of World War II.”—Jon Meacham


Sister Novelists: The Trailblazing Porter Sisters, Who Paved the Way for Austen and the Brontës By Devoney Looser Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781635575293
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - October 25th, 2022

For readers of Prairie Fires and The Peabody Sisters, a fascinating, insightful biography of the most famous sister novelists before the Brontës.


In Search of Mary Seacole: The Making of a Black Cultural Icon and Humanitarian By Helen Rappaport Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781639362745
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Pegasus Books - September 6th, 2022

From New York Times bestselling author Helen Rappaport comes a superb and revealing biography of Mary Seacole that is testament to her remarkable achievements and corrective to the myths that have grown around her.

Raised in Jamaica, Mary Seacole first came to England in the 1850s after working in Panama.  She wanted to volunteer as a nurse a


Lydia Maria Child: A Radical American Life By Lydia Moland Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780226715711
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: University of Chicago Press - October 7th, 2022

A compelling biography of Lydia Maria Child, one of nineteenth-century America’s most courageous abolitionists.

By 1830, Lydia Maria Child had established herself as something almost unheard of in the American nineteenth century: a beloved and self-sufficient female author.