Biography & Autobiography Books - Historical

Hero of Two Worlds: The Marquis de Lafayette in the Age of Revolution Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781541730335
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: PublicAffairs - August 24th, 2021

From the bestselling author of The Storm Before the Storm and host of the Revolutions podcast comes the thrilling story of the Marquis de Lafayette’s lifelong quest to defend the principles of liberty and equality

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A #1 ABA INDEPENDENT BOOKSTORE BESTSELLER
 
Few in history can match the revolu


Journey Between Two Worlds Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781646633531
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Koehler Books - July 15th, 2021

"He had to rub it in that now I was considered a stateless person and no longer had any rights. Wow, did he hate those war brides, those whores."


In the Shadow of the Empress: The Defiant Lives of Maria Theresa, Mother of Marie Antoinette, and Her Daughters Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780316449335
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 21st, 2021

The vibrant, sprawling saga of Empress Maria Theresa—one of the most renowned women rulers in history—and three of her extraordinary daughters, including Marie Antoinette, the doomed queen of France.

Out of the thrilling and tempestuous eighteenth century comes the sweeping family saga of beautiful Maria Theresa, a sovereign of uncommon strength and vision, the only w


The Man in the Iron Mask: The True Story of Europe's Most Famous Prisoner Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781643137421
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Pegasus Books - July 6th, 2021

A vivid, dramatic, and eye-opening historical narrative, The Man in the Iron Mask reveals the story behind the most enduring mystery of Louis XIV’s reign.

The Man in the Iron Mask has all the hallmarks of a thrilling adventure story: a glamorous and all-powerful king, ambitious ministers, a cruel and despotic jailor, dark and sinister


Robert E. Lee: A Life Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781101946220
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf - September 28th, 2021

From the award-winning historian and best-selling author of Gettysburg comes the definitive biography of Robert E. Lee. An intimate look at the Confederate general in all his complexity—his hypocrisy and courage, his inner turmoil and outward calm, his disloyalty and his honor.


All the Frequent Troubles of Our Days: The True Story of the American Woman at the Heart of the German Resistance to Hitler Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780316561693
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Little Brown and Company - August 3rd, 2021

A New York Times Bestseller
A
New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice


On Juneteenth Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781631498831
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Liveright - May 4th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The essential, sweeping story of Juneteenth’s integral importance to American history, as told by a Pulitzer Prize–winning historian and Texas native.


Journey to the Edge of Reason: The Life of Kurt Gödel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781324005445
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 11th, 2021

The first major biography written for a general audience of the logician and mathematician whose Incompleteness Theorems helped launch a modern scientific revolution.


The Great Dissenter: The Story of John Marshall Harlan, America's Judicial Hero Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9781501188206
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 8th, 2021

The definitive, sweeping biography of an American hero who stood against all the forces of Gilded Age America to fight for civil rights and economic freedom: Supreme Court Justice John Marshall Harlan.

They say that history is written by the victors. But not in the case of the most famous dissenter on the Supreme Court.


The Happiest Man on Earth: The Beautiful Life of an Auschwitz Survivor Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780063097681
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Harper - May 4th, 2021

A New York Times Bestseller

In this uplifting memoir in the vein of The Last Lecture and Man’s Search for Meaning, a Holocaust survivor pays tribute to those who were lost by telling his story, sharing his wisdom, and living his best possible life.


An American Marriage: The Untold Story of Abraham Lincoln and Mary Todd Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781643137346
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Pegasus Books - June 1st, 2021

An enlightening narrative exploring an oft-overlooked aspect of the sixteenth president's life, An American Marriage reveals the tragic story of Abraham Lincoln’s marriage to Mary Todd.

Abraham Lincoln was apparently one of those men who regarded “connubial bliss” as an untenable fantasy. During the Civil War, he pardoned a Union


The Nine: The True Story of a Band of Women Who Survived the Worst of Nazi Germany Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250239297
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: St. Martin's Press - May 4th, 2021

"[A] narrative of unfathomable courage... Ms. Strauss does her readers—and her subjects—a worthy service by returning to this appalling history of the courage of women caught up in a time of rapacity and war." —Wall Street Journal

"Utterly gripping." —Anne Sebba, author of Les Parisiennes