Biography & Autobiography Books - Environmentalists & Naturalists

More Environmentalists & Naturalists Biographies
The Sunset Route: Freight Trains, Forgiveness, and Freedom on the Rails in the American West Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593133286
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Dial Press - July 6th, 2021

The unforgettable story of one woman who leaves behind her hardscrabble childhood in Alaska to travel the country via freight train--a beautiful memoir about forgiveness, self-discovery, and the redemptive power of nature, perfect for fans of Wild or Educated.


Below the Edge of Darkness: A Memoir of Exploring Light and Life in the Deep Sea Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525509240
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House - July 27th, 2021

A pioneering marine biologist takes us down into the deep ocean to understand bioluminescence--the language of light that helps life communicate in the darkness--and what it tells us about the future of life on Earth in this "thrilling blend of hard science and high adventure" (The New York Times Book Review).


Believers: Making a Life at the End of the World Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374110253
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - July 20th, 2021

"An essential document of our time." —Charles D’Ambrosio, author of Loitering

In search of answers and action, the award-winning poet and essayist Lisa Wells brings us Believers, introducing trailblazers and outliers from across the globe who have found radically new ways to live and reconnect to the Earth in the face of climate change


Warmth: Coming of Age at the End of Our World Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143136538
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Penguin Books - August 3rd, 2021

[Warmth] is lyrical and erudite, engaging with science, activism, and philosophy . . . [Sherrell] captures the complicated correspondence between hope and doubt, faith and despair—the pendulum of emotional states that defines our attitude toward the future.The New Yorker


Guardians of the Trees: A Journey of Hope Through Healing the Planet: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250751386
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Flatiron Books - September 28th, 2021

A "magnificent, empowering" (Bill McKibben) memoir about a woman spearheading a global initiative to heal the world’s rainforests and the communities who depend on them


Funny Farm: My Unexpected Life with 600 Rescue Animals Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250272836
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 22nd, 2022

An inspiring and moving memoir of the author's turbulent life with 600 rescue animals.


They Called Us River Rats: The Last Batture Settlement of New Orleans Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781496833075
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: University Press of Mississippi - May 4th, 2021

They Called Us River Rats: The Last Batture Settlement of New Orleans is the previously untold story of perhaps the oldest outsider settlement in America, an invisible community on the annually flooded shores of the Mississippi River. This community exists in the place between the normal high and low water line of the Mississippi River, a zone known in Louisiana as the batture.


Staff Pick Badge
Diary of a Young Naturalist Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781571311801
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Milkweed Editions - June 8th, 2021

A BuzzFeed Best Book of June 2021

From sixteen-year-old Dara McAnulty, a globally renowned figure in the youth climate activist movement, comes a memoir about loving the natural world and fighting to save it.


Staff Pick Badge
Waterlog: A Swimmers Journey Through Britain Cover Image
By Roger Deakin, Bonnie Tsui (Introduction by), Robert Macfarlane (Afterword by)
$27.95
ISBN: 9781951142858
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Tin House Books - May 25th, 2021

"A beautiful ode to the act of swimming outdoors…. Deakin’s insistence on wild swimming for all is really an insistence on a better ecosystem for all." —The Atlantic

A masterpiece of nature writing, Roger Deakin’s Waterlog is a fascinating and inspiring journey into the aquatic world that surrounds us.


Staff Pick Badge
Seed to Dust: Life, Nature, and a Country Garden Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781771647687
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Greystone Books - May 4th, 2021

For readers of Late Migrations and Vesper Flights

A stunning meditation on gardening and the wisdom of plants, "that rare book that will appeal to nonfiction readers everywhere ... Candid, tender, thoughtful and absorbing." --Shelf Awareness (STARRED Review)


Disasterology: Dispatches from the Frontlines of the Climate Crisis Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780778311034
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Park Row - August 3rd, 2021

Part memoir, part expert analysis, Disasterology is a passionate and personal account of a country in crisis--one unprepared to deal with the disasters of today and those looming in our future.


Cat Tale: The Wild, Weird Battle to Save the Florida Panther Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781335482211
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 1-5 Business Days
Published: Hanover Square Press - May 4th, 2021

A Garden & Gun Best Book of 2020

"Witty and passionate." --Lauren Groff

"Craig Pittman has a remarkable talent for telling stories set in the Sunshine State that never fail to fascinate and entertain."--Gilbert King