Biography & Autobiography Books - Culinary

More Culinary - Chef Biographies
A  Waiter in Paris: Adventures in the Dark Heart of the City By Edward Chisholm Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781639362837
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Pegasus Books - August 9th, 2022

An evocative portrait of the underbelly of contemporary Paris as seen through the eyes of a young waiter scraping out a living in the City of Light. 

A waiter's job is to deceive you. They want you to believe in a luxurious calm because on the other side of that door . . .


To Fall in Love, Drink This: A Wine Writer's Memoir By Alice Feiring Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982176761
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Scribner - August 9th, 2022

From veteran wine writer and James Beard Award winner Alice Feiring, an insightful and entertaining memoir of wine, love, heartbreak, and the never-ending process of coming-of-age.

Called everything from the Patti Smith to the Ruth Bader Ginsburg of natural wines, Alice Feiring is a special sort of wine writer—the kind who dares to disagree with wine “experts,” and


California Soul: An American Epic of Cooking and Survival By Keith Corbin, Kevin Alexander Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780593243824
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Random House - August 16th, 2022

A sharply crafted and unflinchingly honest memoir about gangs, drugs, cooking, and living life on the line—both on the streets and in the kitchen—from one of the most exciting stars in the food world today


Make it a Double: From Wretched to Wondrous: Tales of One Woman's Lifelong Discovery of Whisky By Shelley Sackier Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781639361793
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Pegasus Books - June 7th, 2022

A witty and immersive look at the history, mythology, science, and magical touch that makes whisky taste like a drop of gold. 

Braving the “all boys” clubhouse of the world of whisky has not been easy, but Shelley Sackier has managed to do just that out of her love for the drink.


Dispatches from the Gilded Age: A Few More Thoughts on Interesting People, Far-Flung Places, and the Joys of Southern Comforts By Julia Reed, Everett Bexley (Editor), Roy Blount, Jr., Jr. (Contributions by) Cover Image
By Julia Reed, Everett Bexley (Editor), Roy Blount, Jr., Jr. (Contributions by)
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250279439
Availability: Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 23rd, 2022

Dispatches from the Gilded Age is a collection of essays by Julia Reed, one of America's greatest chroniclers.


Staff Pick Badge
Eat a Peach: A Memoir By David Chang, Gabe Ulla Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524759230
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Clarkson Potter - May 24th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the chef behind Momofuku and star of Netflix’s Ugly Delicious—an intimate account of the making of a chef, the story of the modern restaurant world that he helped shape, and how he discovered that success can be much harder to understand than failure.


Dinner for One: How Cooking in Paris Saved Me By Sutanya Dacres Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780778333036
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Park Row - June 21st, 2022

From podcast host Sutanya Dacres comes Dinner for One, an unforgettable memoir of how she rebuilt her life after her American-in-Paris fairy tale shattered, starting with cooking dinner for herself in her Montmartre kitchen


Zabar's: A Family Story, with Recipes By Lori Zabar, Julia Moskin (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Lori Zabar, Julia Moskin (Foreword by)
$28.00
ISBN: 9780805243390
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Schocken - May 3rd, 2022

The fascinating, mouthwatering story (with ten recipes!) of the immigrant family that created a New York gastronomic legend: “The most rambunctious and chaotic of all delicatessens, with one foot in the Old World and the other in the vanguard of every fast-breaking food move in the city" (Nora Ephron, best-selling author and award-winning screenwriter).


Call Me Chef, Dammit!: A Veteran's Journey from the Rural South to the White House By Andre Rush Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780785249450
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Harper Horizon - April 19th, 2022

What does it take to go from growing up in a Mississippi housing project to becoming a master sergeant and a celebrity chef serving in the White House under four United States presidents?


Warming Up Julia Child: The Remarkable Figures Who Shaped a Legend By Helen Lefkowitz Horowitz Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781643139388
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Pegasus Books - April 5th, 2022

A Pulitzer prize-finalist peels back the curtain on an unexplored part of Julia Child's life—the formidable team of six she collaborated with to shape her legendary career.

Julia Child's monumental Mastering the Art of French Cooking and iconic television show The French Chef required a team of innovators to bring out her unique prese


Khabaar: An Immigrant Journey of Food, Memory, and Family (FoodStory) By Madhushree Ghosh Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781609388232
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: University Of Iowa Press - April 4th, 2022

Khabaar is a food memoir and personal narrative that braids the global journeys of South Asian food through immigration, migration, and indenture. Focusing on chefs, home cooks, and food stall owners, the book questions what it means to belong and what does belonging in a new place look like in the foods carried over from the old country?


My Ackee Tree: A Chef's Memoir of Finding Home in the Kitchen By Suzanne Barr, Suzanne Hancock (With) Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780735239500
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Penguin Canada - April 5th, 2022

For fans of The Measure of My Powers and Notes from a Young Black Chef, a memoir about food, family, and the recipes that brought one woman home when she needed it the most.