Biography & Autobiography Books - Culinary

More Culinary - Chef Biographies
The Book of Eating: Adventures in Professional Gluttony Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062293541
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ecco - November 12th, 2019

A wildly hilarious and irreverent memoir of a globe-trotting life lived meal-to-meal by one of our most influential and respected food critics


American Cuisine: And How It Got This Way Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9781631494628
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Liveright - October 15th, 2019

With an ambitious sweep over two hundred years, Paul Freedman’s lavishly illustrated history shows that there actually is an American cuisine.


Where I Come From: Life Lessons from a Latino Chef Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781419738029
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 1st, 2019

JGV: A Life in 12 Recipes Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393608489
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 8th, 2019

One of the most influential chef-restaurateurs of all time reflects on a career defined by surprising, delicious food.

From his first apprenticeship in France to his Michelin-starred restaurant empire, Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s cuisine is inspired by the freshest ingredients, the simplest techniques, and the drive to make the ordinary perfect. It all started at home.


Kitchen Yarns: Notes on Life, Love, and Food Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393357530
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - December 3rd, 2019

In this warm collection of personal essays and recipes, best-selling author Ann Hood “connects food with memory in delicious ways” (Jane Ciabattari, BBC).


Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A Sweet-Sour Memoir of Eating in China Cover Image
By Fuchsia Dunlop, Bee Wilson (Foreword by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9780393357745
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 15th, 2019

The modern classic that redefined the travel food memoir, with a new foreword from Bee Wilson.


99 Bottles: A Black Sheep's Guide to Life-Changing Wines Cover Image
By André Mack, Kelly Alexander (Text by), Rob DeBorde (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781419734571
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 29th, 2019

Eating with Peter: A Life of Delicious Adventures Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781950691128
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arcade - January 7th, 2020

A life-changing journey intertwining high romance, gastronomy, and an unsurpassable joie de vivre for readers of Julie and Julia and My Paris Kitchen.

Susan's life would never be the same after she meets Peter Buckley. A man who was larger than life, Peter pulls Susan out of her comfort zone to taste the fine life, literally.


To Drink and To Eat: New Edition Cover Image
By Guillaume Long, Guillaume Long (Illustrator), Nguyen Tran (Foreword by)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781620107201
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oni Press - February 25th, 2020

A new multi-course collection of cartoonist Guillaume Long’s famous culinary comic in Le Monde, now equipped with a fresh Foreword by Starry Kitchen and bonus material from the author's archives!

If you want to take your culinary skills from cook to master chef, you’ll need to know a few things. Where can you get not just good, but the best wild garlic?


From Scratch: A Memoir of Love, Sicily, and Finding Home Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501187667
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - February 4th, 2020

This Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick and New York Times bestseller is “a captivating story of love lost and found” (Kirkus Reviews) set in the lush Sicilian countryside, where one woman discovers the healing powers of food, family, and unexpected grace in her darkest hours.

It was love at first sight when actress Tembi met professional chef, Saro, on a stre


Dear Alfonso: An Italian Feast of Love and Laughter Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781780275277
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Birlinn - October 16th, 2019

Mary Contini, relates in her inimitable style the story of her father-in-law Carlo's life from wartime Pozzuoli, near Naples, and Genoa, and eventually to Edinburgh, where he arrived in 1952 on a three-month visa to learn English. Here his life was to change forever when he met Olivia Crolla and married into her family business, the delicatessen Valvona & Crolla.


Savage Feast: Three Generations, Two Continents, and a Dinner Table (A Memoir with Recipes) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062867902
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper Perennial - February 25th, 2020

One of Booklist's Must Read Nonfiction picks of 2019


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs