Biography & Autobiography Books

Staff Pick Badge
The Sun Does Shine: How I Found Life, Freedom, and Justice Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250309471
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 4th, 2019

The New York Times bestseller and Oprah's Book Club 2018 Selection: A powerful, revealing story of hope, love, and justice.

"An amazing and heartwarming story, it restores our faith in the inherent goodness of humanity.”
- Archbishop Desmond Tutu


Small Fry Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802147219
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Grove Press - June 18th, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES AND NEW YORKER TOP 10 BOOK OF THE YEAR


I Love Capitalism!: An American Story Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735216266
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Portfolio - June 2nd, 2020

New York Times Bestseller

Iconoclastic entrepreneur and New York legend Ken Langone tells the compelling story of how a poor boy from Long Island became one of America's most successful businessmen.


Famous Father Girl: A Memoir of Growing Up Bernstein Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062641366
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Harper Paperbacks - June 11th, 2019

The oldest daughter of revered composer/conductor Leonard Bernstein offers a rare look at her father on the centennial of his birth in a deeply intimate and broadly evocative memoir


America's Reluctant Prince: The Life of John F. Kennedy Jr. Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781524742386
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Dutton - July 9th, 2019

A major new biography of John F. Kennedy Jr. from a leading historian who was also a close friend, America’s Reluctant Prince is a deeply researched, personal, surprising, and revealing portrait of the Kennedy heir the world lost too soon.
 


The Unexpected President: The Life and Times of Chester A. Arthur Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780306922701
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Da Capo Press - June 4th, 2019

When President James Garfield was shot in 1881, nobody expected Vice President Chester A. Arthur to become a strong and effective president, a courageous anti-corruption reformer, and an early civil rights advocate.


Mr. Know-It-All: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374214968
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 21st, 2019

No one knows more about everything—especially everything rude, clever, and offensively compelling—than John Waters. The man in the pencil-thin mustache, auteur of the transgressive movie classics Pink Flamingos, Polyester, the original Hairspray, Cry-Baby, and A Dirty Shame, is one of the world’s great sophisticates, and in Mr.


Truth Worth Telling: A Reporter's Search for Meaning in the Stories of Our Times Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781335999146
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Hanover Square Press - May 21st, 2019

"A monument to journalistic excellence.... Highly recommended " --Douglas Brinkley, author of Cronkite and American Moonshot


An inspiring memoir from the frontlines of history by the award-winning 60 Minutes correspondent.

Don't ask the meaning of life. Life is asking, what's the meaning of you?


Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374538392
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 21st, 2019

“Rollicking, irresistible, un-put-downable . . . For anyone . . . who swooned to Netflix’s The Crown, this book will be manna from heaven.” —Hamish Bowles, Vogue

Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret is a brilliant, eccentric treat. —Anna Mundow, The Wall Street Journal


Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781524733537
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2019

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.”
 --Cheryl Strayed

For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief.


Between Them: Remembering My Parents Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062661890
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: Ecco - May 21st, 2019

From American master Richard Ford, a memoir: his first work of nonfiction, a stirring narrative of memory and parental love


Oliver Wendell Holmes: A Life in War, Law, and Ideas Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780393634723
Availability: Click Title for IN STOCK Location
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 28th, 2019

Oliver Wendell Holmes twice escaped death as a young Union officer in the Civil War when musket balls missed his heart and spinal cord by a fraction of an inch at the Battles of Ball's Bluff and Antietam. He lived ever after with unwavering moral courage, unremitting scorn for dogma, and an insatiable intellectual curiosity.


Northshire Manchester Store

Northshire Manchester
4869 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
ph. 802.362.2200
ph. (toll free) 800.437.3700
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Manchester

Northshire Saratoga Store

Northshire Saratoga
424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
ph. 518.682.4200
ph. (toll free) 855.339.5990
Sun-Thu 10am-7pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm
Directions to Saratoga Springs