Anti-racist - Non Fiction - Ages 8-12 - Page 2

More Anti-racist NonFiction for Ages 8-12
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780312661052
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Square Fish - December 21st, 2010

"When it comes to justice, there is no easy way to get it. You can't sugarcoat it. You have to take a stand and say, 'This is not right.'" - Claudette Colvin


The Fierce 44: Black Americans Who Shook Up the World Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328940629
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Clarion Books - December 24th, 2019

A dynamic collective biography that presents 44 of America’s greatest Black movers and shakers, from Frederick Douglass to Aretha Franklin to Barack Obama, written by ESPN’s TheUndefeated and illustrated with dazzling portraits by Rob Ball.


Little Rock Girl 1957: How a Photograph Changed the Fight for Integration (Captured History) Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9780756545123
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Compass Point Books - June 1st, 2011

Nine African American students made history when they defied a governor and integrated an Arkansas high school in 1957. It was the photo of a young girl trying to enter the school being taunted, harassed and threatened by an angry mob that grabbed the world's attention and kept its disapproving gaze on Little Rock, Arkansas.


Staff Pick Badge
Let It Shine: Stories of Black Women Freedom Fighters Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780547906041
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Clarion Books - January 8th, 2013

2001 Coretta Scott King Honor Book

Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on a bus and sparked a boycott that changed America. Harriet Tubman helped more than three hundred slaves escape the South on the Underground Railroad. Shirley Chisholm became the first black woman elected to the U.S.


The Escape of Robert Smalls: A Daring Voyage Out of Slavery Cover Image
By Jehan Jones-Radgowski, Poppy Kang (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781543512816
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Capstone Editions - September 1st, 2019

The mist in Charleston Inner Harbor was heavy, but not heavy enough to disguise the stolen Confederate steamship, the Planter, from Confederate soldiers. In the early hours of May 13, 1862, in the midst of the deadly U.S. Civil War, an enslaved man named Robert Smalls was about to carry out a perilous plan of escape.


Standing Up Against Hate: How Black Women in the Army Helped Change the Course of WWII Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419731600
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

Standing Up Against Hate tells the stories of the African American women who enlisted in the newly formed Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps (WAAC) in World War II. They quickly discovered that they faced as many obstacles in the armed forces as they did in everyday life. However, they refused to back down.


March: Book One Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781603093002
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 13th, 2013

#1 New York Times Bestseller


March: Book Two Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781603094009
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Top Shelf Productions - January 20th, 2015

Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, continues his award-winning graphic novel trilogy with co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell, inspired by a 1950s comic book that helped prepare his own generation to join the struggle.


March: Book Three Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781603094023
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 2nd, 2016

Welcome to the stunning conclusion of the award-winning and best-selling MARCH trilogy. Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, joins co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell to bring the lessons of history to vivid life for a new generation, urgently relevant for today's world.


A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919 Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780544785137
Availability: IN WAREHOUSE - Usually Ships in 3-7 Business Days
Published: Clarion Books - January 2nd, 2018

This mesmerizing narrative nonfiction draws on contemporary accounts as it traces the roots of an explosion that had been building for decades in race relations, politics, business, and clashes of culture.

Coretta Scott King Award winner * Carter G. Woodson Book Award from the National Council for the Social Studies


Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525645818
Availability: Click Title for IN STORE Location
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people. Perfect for fans of Rad Women Worldwide, Women in Science, and Girls Think of Everything.


Trailblazers: Jackie Robinson: Breaking Barriers in Baseball Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593124048
Availability: Backordered
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

Bring history home and meet some of the world's greatest game changers! get inspired by the true story of the player who broke the color barrier in Major League Baseball. This biography series is for kids who loved Who Was? and are ready for the next level.